What’s in Your Dance Bag?

My t-shirt theory: If you have an extra shirt with you, then it is less likely that you’ll need it. If you do need one, it is less likely that you’ll have an alternate available. To try and make the Murphy’s Law nature of things fall on my side, I keep an extra shirt–along with other staples–in my dance bag.

Other essential dance bag occupants are:

  • gum or mints
  • deodorant
  • baby powder
  • pen
  • fan (in the slim box)
  • handkerchief
  • earplugs
  • business cards
  • tissues
  • and of course, shoes.

The tissues and a handkerchief probably seems like overkill, but I like having options. In the summer, I often add sunscreen. Not shown is a water bottle. More frugal than constantly buying water and better for the planet too. Also not included is a washcloth, which both Craig and I usually grab on the way out the door for mopping our brows.

The bag itself has served me well since I started dancing in 2003. The main compartment is perfect for larger items while the front zipper pocket keeps smaller items easily accessible.

In the mid 2000s there was a lindy hop mini-trend of carrying a vintage train case with all of the necessary dance accoutrements. The trend has mostly died off, as trends do, but it is still a cute idea. Much of the trouble was that few train cases are also large enough to accommodate shoes.

Sometimes when I go out, I’ll dump my wallet, keys, and phone in my dance bag, but often I’m less coordinated and just bring my purse in too. I hate carrying two bags, but I’d rather start dancing then play item shuffle from one bag to another in the car while Craig waits.

So, do tell, what’s in your dance bag?

2 Comments

Filed under balboa, Charleston, lindy hop, tools of the trade, vintage

2 responses to “What’s in Your Dance Bag?

  1. I love this post; I was thinking of writing something similar.

    I keep an extra pair of shoes with me, so I always have the right “speed” of shoe, depending on the floor. Also in my bag, are my kazoo and washboard (with thimbles), so I’m always read to jam.

    • I didn’t realize you’re a kazoo and washboard player. How fun! I’ve heard of other people that carry multiple pairs of shoes, but I really only have one pair that I like, though I own about four, so that narrows things down.

Leave a Reply

