‘Tis the Season

Confession time: I have a small love affair with Christmas music.

It started in college. I would come home for the holidays, and be subjected to my mother’s catalog of the worst Christmas music ever. Name an artist whose Christmas album would be worse than water-boarding and my mom owned it. Celine Dion? Check. Manheim Steamrollers? Every one. Kenny G? Of course!

It became my mission to find Christmas music that I found tolerable, and my Mom’s December birthday became the perfect excuse for adding them to her collection prior to my arrival home. Many of the great Christmas swing songs have found their way into regular play on the radio stations and in malls by now. Ever since Macy’s rescued Kay Starr’s “Man with the Bag” from obscurity in 2006, advertisers have been looking for the next great song. Likewise, every year, I scour around for enjoyable and danceable holiday music. Here are some of this year’s best finds along with a few lesser-known favorites.

2 Comments

Filed under Blues, Dixieland, Jazz, Music

2 responses to “‘Tis the Season

  1. I still can’t decide which I like better: Trim Your Tree or Ding Dong Merrily on High. But are awesome, but differently.

  2. Ceste

    wow! This are worth checking out for sure. I don’t think I’ve heard of any of these b4

Leave a Reply

