Branded for Life, Part 2: One Step More

As I mentioned in Part 1, this past year, I branded my life as the “Year of Awesomeness.” Over the past month, I’ve been contemplating what I want to make next year about. After toying with lots of possibilities, talking with a close friend, running ideas past my wife, I’ve finally found the words that resonate most with where I am in my life: One Step More.

My pursuit of running has had a major impact on my life. I’ve never had a competitive drive, always longing for cooperative efforts. But I found myself pushing myself, and then realizing after the race how much further I can go. I didn’t even know how far I could reach, and now I want to reach farther in all aspects of my life.

Far too often, I have settled for good enough or assumed I had done my best without expending the extra effort. I would reach as far as the edge of my comfort zone allowed, and whatever lay beyond that was just outside of my grasp. This year, I want to take that extra step outside of my comfort zone. I want to put in that little bit of extra effort to see just how much farther I can get, how much faster I can go, how much better I can be. It is time to subvert the self-imposed limits that I too often wrap myself in like a warm blanket.

While last year had the “Year of Awesomeness” chart, this year will be a little different. No charts, graphs, or diagrams to assess my progress. There is no end to progress to. There is no striving to reach any particular goal other than that of striving. So this year, there will be an empty jar to fill. Every extra step. Every training run I push myself on, practice session I work a little harder on, every extra phone call I make to book the band, every little step extra I take. . . I will write it down, date it, and drop it in the jar. At the end of 2013, I will pull them all out, reading each and every one, and take stock of how far those many little extra steps take me.

It is time to strive. One Step More.

Leave a comment

Filed under C-Jam

Leave a Reply

